College Image

Department of Petroleum Technology, Dibrugarh University

Assam | Government Institute | Co ed | Campus Area : No Information
Year of Establishment :1969 | AICTE Approval : Approved
Address :

Dibrugarh, Assam 786004

Email :

No Information

Contact :


Courses :

M Tech

Total Fees : No Information
Admission Criteria : GATE
Facilities :
About College :

Department of Petroleum Technology was established in 1969 at DibrugarhUniversity with an aim to produce technically qualified manpower for the oil industries and research institutes in the north east region in particular and in the country in general. Late Prof. K.D. Gogoi was instrumental in upgrading the previous Diploma in Petroleum Technology course to the M.Tech course in Petroleum Technology in 1996 under AICTE, New Delhi. The department presently runs a four semester M.Tech course in Petroleum Exploration and Production approved by AICTE, New Delhi, and PhD programmes in diversified areas of petroleum upstream sector.

The department has completed a number of research projects funded by Department of Science & Technology (DST), Government of India and University Grants Commission (UGC). Under the leadership of Late Prof. K.D. Gogoi, the department was given the recognition by Technology Information, Forecasting & Assessment Council (TIFAC), Department of Science & Technology, Government of India, as one of the Centres of Relevance and Excellence (TIFAC-CORE) in India, under Mission REACH (Relevance & Excellence in Achieving New Heights in Educational Institutions). ON 26th November 2000, Bharat Ratna Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, the then Chief Scientific Adviser, Government of India inaugurated the Centre in the University.

The department has been selected by ONGC to award, “ONGC Merit Scholarship”, under Industry Academia interface , to the 1st position holder of the 1st year (1st 2nd semesters combined % of marks)